A Moment of Gratitude

I’m thinking this morning about how much I love my husband and how fortunate I am that we’re still experiencing this journey of life together. I know that not a minute can be taken for granted, especially at our age. Today a dear friend of ours is struggling for his life after receiving a transplant several days ago (please pray for him). His wife, faithfully by his side, is loving him through a most excruciating form of intimacy – one that none of us ever want, but sometimes we don’t get much of a choice, if any. At the same time, Peter and 20 of his West Point classmates are in South Carolina at the funeral of one of their friends who passed away after a long illness. The brotherhood of USMA grads endures for life, and beyond. So today, along with the gratitude I feel for my husband, I’m also thankful for the dear friends in our lives who continually share with us lessons about love, honor, and duty. God blesses us; and God bless them.

Leave a Reply

