The Joy of Today’s Solar Eclipse

I loved watching TV today while the eclipse moved across our country. The joyful reactions of one group after another were a sight to behold. There was a purity about it all, and a heart-warming sense of community, as we were all awed by as Saint Francis of Assisi called them, Brother Sun and Sister Moon. Tonight, as I reflect back on the day, I am reminded of a beautiful prayer a dear friend of mind gave me years ago, and I would like to share it with you here:

I pledge allegiance to the earth and to the kingdoms it contains, and to the great body of the solar system, and to its heart the sun, maintainer of all life, and to the silent power of the Great One Beyond the Sun. I pledge my heart to that Great One, which is inside me, and outside me, and everywhere. – source unknown

Goodnight and God bless you.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

